Multilevel Marketing or You Don’t Find Nirvana in a Plastic Bottle

In the past few months; I’ve been hit up by friends, co-workers and acquaintances to try “The Answer!!” “The Answer” is multileveled and all have the same purpose; to milk my wallet.

  • Amway
  • Amway Global, previously known as Quixtar
  • Avon Products
  • Herbalife
  • Isagenix International
  • Nu Skin Enterprises
  • The Pampered Chef
  • Scentsy
  • USANA Health Sciences

    I’m a Canadian and we can be insufferably polite. I listen, politely, and suffer through a range of emotions while doing so;

  • The internalized eye roll.
  • Impatience because, I’ve heard it all before.
  • Slightly insulted that anyone would think I am THAT gullible.
  • Pissed off that someone would take advantage of our relationship by trying to sell me something that, with a bit of research, proves itself to be MLM and probably a huge old bag of BS.

Please listen up, all you MLM folks; leave me alone. I don’t want to be rude. I would take no pleasure in bursting your new found “The Answer!!” but if you keep pushing me? I will. I will eventually lose my patience and ask that you provide valid research studies, with peer reviews. I will ask you to provide breakdowns of the product and then tell you how the human body reacts to too much vitamins, too much protein and if you insist on scarfing down this crap? How much cheaper it would be at your local pharmacy. There are NO research studies with the appropriate peer reviews that show cleansing (ew) is of any positive benefit aside from a placebo effect.

You believe this stuff works for you; awesome, have a time! Whatever floats your boat; I can tell you, unequivocally, that this will not work for me. Why? Because I don’t need it. I love my life. Yes, I get tired but I’m also 57 years old, with a full time job, a house and insomnia due to a drop in my hormone levels (this too, shall pass). I eat well, I take vitamins when I feel I need to supplement a diet that may be a little off in nutrients (usually winter). I am very happy, I feel great about myself…although, I do need to lose some weight but again, I’m 57 and my hormone levels are doing a Freak Dance.

So in closing; if you value our relationship? If you actually respect me as a person? Don’t use this relationship to sell me overpriced crap or insult my intelligence with a MLM scheme. I am fully capable of knowing myself, knowing my body and my psyche; I am also fully capable of taking the appropriate action when something is a little off-balance. I guarantee you that depleting my bank account isn’t one of those actions.

2 Comments

Filed under Whatnot

2 responses to “Multilevel Marketing or You Don’t Find Nirvana in a Plastic Bottle

  1. Anonymous

    Don’t even get me started. Your version is so polite compared to what I have to say. It’s just a matter of time before I say it.

Leave a Reply

