LORDS OF SALEM – *SPOILER ALERT* *SPOILER ALERT*

Did I mention a SPOILER ALERT?

lords-of-salem-movie

So, you’ve been warned. I’m going to give my opinion/critique of Rob Zombie’s latest release to DVD, “Lords of Salem.”

I’m not sure if I found the movie mundane and a run-of-the-mill horror genre because I am not Christian nor do I believe in a devil persona or if it was, mundane and run-of-the-mill. It was, sadly, predictable but again, is this because I’ve read the whole Salem witch curse thing to death or would someone not as jaded find the film “scary”. I’m inclined to say, “No. No one is going to find this movie, scary.”

I was hoping for something “out of the box”, something unique and very Zombie-esque, as with House of 1000 Corpses, Devil’s Rejects or his interpretation of the slash-horror flick, Halloween. The film was B, at best. Schlock, at worst.

Sheri Moon Zombie was good, considering the material; I felt like she was not given free rein with the role. You wanted more, more depth to the character, more emotion, just – more. The entire movie left you wanting more.

In this era of movie special effects? There was nada of note.

This wasn’t the bomb that was Zombie’s “Halloween 2” but in all honesty, I would have been heartily pissed had I paid to see this in a theatre.

I love Rob Zombie; love his music and loved 3 of his films. I recommend House, Rejects and Halloween to be part of any psychological horror film buff’s collection but I can’t recommend Lords of Salem as anything more than a Wal-Mart bargain bin buy, for a rainy Saturday afternoon, when you need to kill a couple of hours. Believe me, you will not only kill them but you won’t even remember them later…there is nothing in the movie that will cause you any pause for thought.

Too bad, so very, very sad.

Leave a comment

Filed under Whatnot

Leave a Reply

