Reality: Yay or Nay?


voyeurismFirst, the confession; I don’t watch reality shows (one exception, Hell’s Kitchen). I’ve never seen an episode of Survivor, Hoarders or Intervention. I have no idea who Honey Boo Boo is or why she is; I was forced to Google her because I had no frame of reference. A lobotomy would have been less painful.

I have never seen Toddlers in Tiaras. The creating star shows? Nope. Never seen ’em dance or sing. My only exposure has been through commercials on television. I plan to keep it that way; these shows have no appeal to me but I’m in the minority apparently. This type of programming rakes in the dough. Don’t get it, can’t conceive of a situation where wasting that much of my time would be an option.

What is the attraction? I know people who freak if they are going to miss a single episode. Ordinarily, intelligent people, able to walk without dragging their knuckles, people who can form coherent sentences, in a recognized language, work-a-day folks who turn into babbling idiots because they will miss some Sad Sack’s attempt to garner some camera time.

You see, when you don’t understand something, when you are ignorant on the topic and I must claim that ignorance, you tend to view the topic with suspicion and mistrust. This form of ignorance is the basis for bigotry and prejudice. It is this type of ignorance that allows the brain to remain in stasis as opposed to opening and learning, expanding, acknowledging and accepting. Ignorance stunts the human condition. I don’t want to be stunted.

There is a new show being tested as an option for “entertainment”; “L.A. Shrinks”. Here’s the link: http://www.bravotv.com/la-shrinks

I pulled an Elvis face (the sneer thing) when I read about this. Of course, the network is trying to justify and raise the intellectual bar of the show; I am not so sure that this possible. In my, never-so-humble, opinion as far as invading personal privacy? This is right up there with a reality show about gynecologists or for any male readers? A proctologist show. What, on earth, could possess the mind of a psychologist to do something like this? Perhaps psychotherapy of their own is in order? The mind truly, boggles.

Is there something I’m missing in human development? Am I behind the eight ball somehow? I don’t get it. More to the point, I don’t believe I want to get it. Is there so little in life, real life, to hold our attention that we need to turn ourselves into voyeurs and watch others pass or fail at the game? Is there something more to it than just voyeurism?

Once again, I am flummoxed.

1 Comment

Filed under Whatnot

One response to “Reality: Yay or Nay?

  1. As you know, we do not have a television service here, and haven’t for about 5 years. When we got tired of TV, these were only just starting, so we’ve missed the bulk of the phenomenon. We did enjoy Ramsay’s shows, and we also liked “Little People Big World”. I don’t recall watching any others. From the descriptions, they don’t appeal to me, and some I would actively avoid.

    Unfortunately I think it’s a cause and effect thing. People enjoy it, they watch it, so more are made. Now then, there is a way of creating a market too, which is how drug pushers work, and idiot TV didn’t arise in a vacuum. Somebody somewhere said “We can make TV shows out of ANYTHING if we sensationalize it enough, and it’s CHEAP”. So the viewers don’t take 100% of the blame.

    Still, the public gets what the public wants.

Leave a Reply

