Rage; for Erin

rageWent to a wonderful surprise party last night. Yes, I do come out of my hermit hole every now and then… In conversation with an old family friend (she’s not old, we’ve just known her for a long time); it was pointed out to me that I seem to have a lot of pent up rage. 😉

The blog does make it seem that way, doesn’t it?

Not really. I do get frustrated by stupidity, ignorance and general human misbehaviour however and the police frown on my expressing myself by way of my affect of choice. Something about assault and battery…silly law and so? I blog my frustrations, my total confusion with stupidity and ignorance.

Actually, I am a very content individual. I thank my lucky stars for my life every single day. I live in Canada, I have food, shelter, family and a job. I have an amazing bunch of friends – intelligent, perhaps eccentric in the view of mainstream society but where’s the fun in living in the box?

I am who I am due to my parents, my extended family and my friends. My family are all eccentrics, going way back…way, way back. Eccentricity is in my genes.

My husband is an eccentric as well. My kids? Well, poor things had no chance and they are as eccentric as it gets. My Mom…amazing woman. Funny, intelligent and eccentric. My Dad? He was hysterical and again, very eccentric as was his entire family. Mom’s family as well – diverse and eccentric, all. How can you mix Eastern European with Irish and not end up with eccentric???

We are, by and large, a happy bunch. We struggle against the tide of social norms, we try to make sense of our lives in a world that is increasingly more confusing.

Family gatherings are loud, they can be explosive. Family dinners are never quiet, dignified affairs – that isn’t who we are. Some people are terrified by us but eventually they realize, there is no true animosity – just strong opinions.

I love my life. I love my family, my friends. This is the life I dreamed of having as a child – except for my not having a horse 😉 A knight in shining armor at my side, a family full of diversity and fun. There is nothing more to need or want.

Sometimes this blog seems angry and bitter – that is only due to my sadness that so many people will never know the good, the happiness and joy that is my life. Sadly, a good lot of the time, in North America or this Western civilization – it is the fault of the individual. Their concept of success and happiness is so terribly skewed.

Erin – I’ll see if I can’t post a “happy” type blog every now and then, know that these will be for you 😉 Great seeing you last night.

4 Comments

Filed under Whatnot

4 responses to “Rage; for Erin

  1. No, I get it. Martin told me yesterday to calm down because I was getting loud and using a lot of invectives in a monologue in the car about literacy, he said I’d be happier if I just “let it go”. But I’m not unhappy. I entertain myself by being passionate on things I care about. Somebody has to.

  2. Yup. That’s it in a nutshell, Melanie – it is passion and goddam, it IS entertaining.

  3. Anonymous

    Naw. I have never perceived you as having pent up rage. But then I am much the same personality…except I am more emotionally invested in neat closets then you. If you could hear the discussions Kyle and I have in this house. Good Lord! You would think world domination was at stake. Tom just shakes his head. He is the Zen one in this house.

    • Dave is the Zen in our household and yes, you have far more emotional investment in neat closets and with time, than do I 😉 Its the same here, with regard to discussion and debate however, I have Logan and Kyle…Shawn is the Zen of those three rascals. And they do it on purpose…absolutely on purpose.

Leave a Reply

