Thankful? What, the hell, for???

It is the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. Unlike the Americans, our Thanksgiving is reflective of our Anglo roots, we are thankful for a successful harvest. How very Pagan of the early settlers 😉

But as the majority of us no longer live “off the land” so to speak – we live in cities, in towns – we don’t till the good earth. Most of us wouldn’t know what to do with a seed if it came with instructions and a diagram but that doesn’t mean that we don’t all enjoy a successful, if metaphorical, harvest.

I look back over the past year and I am astounded by the changes. Some were devastating but tools toward growth and harvest. I have so much for which I am thankful.

I live in a country of freedom, of opportunity, of open spaces. I am surrounded by family and friends. I have a roof over my head, food in the fridge, in the cupboard. I have a job that I enjoy. I have co-workers who make going to work a little less daunting, especially at 6:30 in the morning. A time I used to think was the domain of birds alone.

I am thankful for my children and their ability to take the high roads offered to them, more times than not. Happy that they do this of free will, not because they are in fear of some imaginary god waiting to punish them for transgressions.

I am thankful for my parents, my father, who too recently passed over and to my mother – a force of nature. I am thankful for my brother and all his little eccentricities; they make me smile and remember that life is good.

And my husband. We’ve climbed mountains, he and I; we’ve weathered storms and in doing so, the calm is so much more meaningful. I’m thankful for his smile, his sense of humour, his wit and intelligence. I’m especially thankful for the patience he has developed over the years…not due to me, of course… Nooooo. 😉

I’m thankful for Pfizer..yes, Pfizer the pharmaceutical company because, if not for their Aerius? I could not be thankful for our dog – Chico who has brought so much to our lives. The stresses of a day magically melt as soon as we walk through the door and he treats us like the SINGULAR MOST IMPORTANT people in the world.

I’m thankful that I am able to express myself on this simple blog; a pleasure that is denied so many. I’m thankful for you, whoever you are, for taking the time to read this.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

